Monday, 8 September 2014

Reading with Chuckles #3


Welcome to Reading with Chuckles! This is where I fill you in on what I'm reading each week-what it is, where I got it or heard about it, what I think of it, if I'm continuing with it or abandoning it and any special offers I'm aware of where you can try the book yourself. Comments are welcome but no spoilers please! It's not fair to other readers!

This was another week of being pretty tired and not getting much reading done but I am nearly finished this book. Hopefully I'll have a couple of books to tell you about next week! I've been enjoying it so far. I like Jade, the main character and I like that she is a gaming fan which is a bit different from the girlie characters that we get a lot. The side characters are fun and the plot is interesting. There is not much description or world building as it is a short novella but it is good so far. Here is the book in question:


Gamer. Nerd. Sorceress.

Jade Crow lives a quiet life running her comic book and game store in Wylde, Idaho. After twenty-five years fleeing from a powerful sorcerer who wants to eat her heart and take her powers, quiet suits her just fine. Surrounded by friends who are even less human than she is, Jade figures she’s finally safe.

As long as she doesn’t use her magic.

When dark powers threaten her friends’ lives, a sexy shape-shifter enforcer shows up. He’s the shifter world’s judge, jury, and executioner rolled into one, and he thinks Jade is to blame. To clear her name, save her friends, and stop the villain, she’ll have to use her wits… and her sorceress powers.

Except Jade knows that as soon as she does, a far deadlier nemesis awaits.

Justice Calling is the first book in The Twenty-Sided Sorceress urban fantasy series. Readers who enjoyed The Dresden Files or The Iron Druid Chronicles will likely enjoy this series.

2 comments:

  1. Jade Crow lives a quiet life running her comic book and game store in Wylde, Idaho.

    ...I'm sold!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I liked the book for the most part-just too short!

      Delete